Journal of South Asian Linguistics

CSLI Online Publications

The Journal of South Asian Linguistics is an open access online journal devoted to the linguistic study of South Asia. JSAL covers the areas of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and their interfaces, from all theoretical approaches, including formal, computational, historical, psycholinguistic, sociolinguistic, cognitive, and acquisition.

JSAL welcomes submissions on the languages of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tibet, and their diasporas, as well as submissions that take a comparative view within this region or across regions. An important goal of the journal is to showcase the vast range of variation within and across languages in the Subcontinent, with a special focus on underdocumented languages and their varieties.

Contributions to the journal can take the form of full-length articles, theoretically oriented descriptions of understudied languages, and book reviews. We also welcome proposals for occasional special issues edited by guest editors devoted to particular topics.

JSAL supports the sharing of research in a timely fashion, and publishes articles and reviews as they are ready. All publications for a given year are then compiled into a complete issue the following January.

Sameer ud Dowla Khan (Reed College): skhan at reed dot edu
Emily Manetta (University of Vermont): emily dot manetta at uvm dot edu

Associate editor
Mythili Menon (Wichita State University): mythili dot menon at wichita dot edu

Senior advisors
Rajesh Bhatt (University of Massachusetts): bhatt at linguist dot umass dot edu
Miriam Butt (University of Konstanz): miriam dot butt at uni-konstanz dot de

Editorial board members
Greg Anderson (Living Tongues), Paul Arsenault (Tyndale University College), Sudha Arunachalam (Boston University), Ash Asudeh (Oxford University), Hany Babu (Delhi University), Michael Becker (Stony Brook), Emily Bender (University of Washington), Kelly Harper Berkson (Indiana University), Tanmoy Bhattacharya (CASL Delhi), Hugo Cardoso (Lisbon), Elisabeth Coppock (Gothenburg), Mary Dalrymple (Oxford University), Amy Rose Deal (UC Berkeley), Ashwini Deo (Yale University), Karthik Durvasula (Michigan State University), Indranil Dutta (EFLU), Veena Dwivedi (Brock University), Christina Esposito (Macalester College), Anamaria Falaus (CNRS), Gillian Gallagher (NYU), Amalia Gnanadesikan (CASL Maryland), Laura Grestenberger (Concordia University), Patrick Grosz (Universitetet i Oslo), Kyle Johnson (University of Massachusetts), Elsi Kaiser (USC), Tafseer Ahmed Khan (Karachi), Rajesh Khatiwada (Sorbonne), Dave Kush (Trondheim), Utpal Lahiri (JNU), Rajend Mesthrie (Cape Town), Claire Moore-Cantwell (University of Massachusetts), Chandan Narayan (University of Toronto), Renuka Ozarkar (Mumbai), Roumyana Pancheva (USC), Pritty Patel-Grosz (Universitetet i Oslo), Umesh Patil (Osnabrück), Colin Philips (Maryland), Kevin Ryan (Harvard University), Andrew Simpson (USC), Ian Smith (York), Mark Steedman (Edinburgh), Megha Sundara (UCLA), Shravan Vasishth (Potsdam), Kristine Yu (University of Massachusetts).

Advisory board members
John Alderete (Simon Fraser University), Tista Bagchi (University of Delhi), Sigrid Beck (University of Tübingen), Jill Beckman (University of Iowa), Balthasar Bickel (University of Zurich), Jonathan Bobaljik (University of Connecticut), Shobhana Chelliah (University of North Texas), Jennifer Cole (Northwestern University), Alice Davison (University of Iowa), Veneeta Dayal (Rutgers University), John Esling (University of Victoria), Kira Hall (University of Colorado), Bruce Hayes (UCLA), Hans Hock (University of Illinois), Sarmad Hussain (CLE Lahore), Sabine Iatridou (MIT), Pauline Jacobson (Brown University), Ayesha Kidwai (JNU), Paul Kiparsky (Stanford University), Jaklin Kornfilt (Syracuse University), Angelika Kratzer (University of Massachusetts), Manfred Krifka (Humboldt University/ZAS), Anoop Mahajan (UCLA), Diane Massam (University of Toronto), Paroo Nihalani (Nanyang Technological University), Manjari Ohala (San José State University), Martha Palmer (Colorado), David Pesetsky (MIT), Gillian Ramchand (University of Tromsø), Philippe Schlenker (CNRS, NYU), Roger Schwarzschild (MIT), Dipti Mishra Sharma (Hyderabad), Donca Steriade (MIT), KV Subbārāo (University of Hyderabad), Anna Szabolcsi (NYU), Yogendra Yadava (Tribhuvan University), Thomas Ede Zimmermann (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main), Jan Wouter Zwart (University of Groningen). 

On-Line ISSN: 1947-8232
Print ISSN: 1947-8240



New JSAL team ready for Volume 8!


JSAL has a new editorial team, with Emily Manetta (editor) and Mythili Menon (associate editor) joining Sameer ud Dowla Khan (editor) this year.

Along with our senior advisers Miriam Butt and Rajesh Bhatt, the three of us are very excited to announce that after a two-year hiatus, JSAL will be publishing a new volume later this year. Keep an eye out for Volume 8!

Posted: 2018-07-26

New Editorial Team!


We are pleased to announce that our editing team has been joined by two new editors:  Sameer ud Dowla Khan and Pritty Patel-Grosz. 

At the same time, Tracy Holloway King is laying down her editorial role and we would like to thank her for her work on the journal!

Posted: 2016-06-03

Volume 7 now online

We are pleased to announce that Volume 7 is now on-line!  
Posted: 2016-02-02
More Announcements...

Vol 8 (2018): Volume 8 (2018)

Full Issue

View or download the full issue pdf

Table of Contents


Renuka Ozarkar, Gillian Ramchand

Book Reviews

Review of The Languages and Linguistics of South Asia: A Contemporary Guide
Farhat Jabeen